Congratulations to Nicole Kapu and Duncan Graves from Oxford Brookes University, who were presented with the Silver Mace and crowned the winners of the prestigious ESU-Essex Court Chambers National Mooting Competition 2015. Thomas Sweeney and Laura Nelson from Northumbria University were awarded the Scarman Shield as runners-up, following a high quality and hotly contested final in a packed court at the Royal Courts of Justice on 23rd June 2015.

Now beginning its 44th Year, the competition has a distinguished reputation and is intended to give those currently studying law an opportunity to develop and showcase their advocacy skills. Rounds are conducted over the winter and spring, culminating in the semi-finals at Dartmouth House, Mayfair and the Grand Final in the Royal Courts of Justice. In addition to the teams from Oxford Brookes University and Northumbria University, Claire Leonoff-Harris and Sarah Cook from Manchester Metropolitan University and Natalie Cargill and Jen Coyne from Kaplan University successfully reached and took part in the semi-finals.

Mrs Justice Andrews chaired the panel of judges, alongside members of Essex Court Chambers Stewart Boyd QC and Martin Griffiths QC.

This year, in celebration of the 800th anniversary of Magna Carta, the winners are invited to take part in the “Magna Moot” against the winners of the Inner Temple Inter-Varsity Mooting Competition which was held in February 2015. The winners of that competition were Jonathan Goddard and Brendan Brett of Oxford Brookes!

Registration for next year’s ESU-Essex Court Chambers National Mooting Competition will be open at the beginning of the academic year.