The mooting finals of the prestigious ESU-Essex Court National Mooting Competition took place in the Royal Courts of Justice, London, on 10th June 2019. Competing in the finals were University of Leicester and Oxford Brookes University.

The winners were Oxford Brookes University represented by Maja Wilkins and Lauren Bates-Brownsword. As well as wining this prestigious national competition and having their names engraved on the Silver Mace, each received a prize of £1,000 and their university also won £1,000.

The runners up were University of Leicester represented by Sam Knight and Amberlie Camm. Each of them won £750 and the University received a cheque for £500. Sam and Amberlie’s names were also engraved on the Scarman Shield. The Teams competing in the semi-finals were University of Southampton represented by Sophie Cole and Lauren Winser and Manchester Metropolitan University represented by Lily Lewis and Bella Tait. These mooters each won £250.

In addition, all four finalists won mini-pupillages at Essex Court Chambers in London. All prizes were generously provided by Essex Court Chambers to whom the Competition remains grateful.