The finals day of the 48th English-Speaking Union – Essex Court Chambers National Mooting Competition was held on 4th January 2021. Due to Covid-19, the event was held on-line.

The two semi-finals were between University of Hull and University of Salford, judged by The Hon. Mr Justice Martin Griffiths and Richard Ridyard with the University of Hull being declared the winner. The second semi-final was between Queen Mary, University of London and University of Kent, judged by Andrew Hochhauser QC and Eric Baskind with Queen Mary declared the winner.

The final, between Queen Mary, University of London and University of Hull was judged by the former Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales, The Rt. Hon. Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd, The Rt. Hon. Lady Justice Geraldine Andrews and The Hon. Mr Justice Simon Bryan. The mooters from Queen Mary, University of London were declared the winners.

As with previous years, the winners received a prize of £1,000 each and their university also received a donation of £1,000. Their names will also be engraved on the Silver Mace proudly displayed at the Dartmouth House offices of The English-Speaking Union. The runners up received £750 each and their university received £500. The names of the runners-up will be engraved on the Scarman Shield, also displayed at Dartmouth House. The four semi-finalists received £250 each and all four finalists will be offered a mini-pupillage at Essex Court Chambers. All prizes were generously donated by Essex Court Chambers. The winners of this prestigious mooting competition go on to represent the UK in the Commonwealth Mooting Competition during the years in which the Commonwealth Moot takes place.